The stage production of hit movie HAIRSPRAY has won four Laurence Olivier Awards at a ceremony in London. The West End hit was named best new musical while stars Michael Ball, Leanne Jones and Tracie Bennett all won awards for their roles. Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber was honoured for his achievements in theatre and was also recognised for his role in bringing theatre to new audiences around the world. Kristin Scott Thomas won best actress in the play category for her role in The Seagull, with Chiwetel Ejiofor named best actor for playing Othello. The Magic Flute was named best musical revival, and Simon MCBurney's Barbican production of A Disappearing Number was named best new play. Richard E Grant hosted the ceremony at London's Grosvenor House on Sunday night (09Mar08).