Nigerian musician Davido and South Africa's Mafikizolo were double winners at the 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards on Saturday (07Jun14).

Davido was named Best Male and Best Artist, while fellow Nigerians Tiwa Savage and Flavour were also big winners as the Mamas returned to Durban, South Africa after a three-year hiatus.

The host country was also well represented at the event with Mafikizolo claiming Best Group and Song of the Year for Khona, while Gangs of Ballet took Best Alternative and Goldfish were named Best Pop Act.

Meanwhile, superproducer Pharrell Williams was feted with the Best International title and Oscar winner Lupita Nyong'o added another accolade to her growing list of honours by accepting the Personality of the Year prize via a pre-recorded video clip.

The MTV Africa Music Awards was hosted by comedian Marlon Wayans and featured sets from Trey Songz, French Montana and Miguel.

The event also included an acoustic performance from soul singer Simphiwe Dana, which served as a moving musical tribute to late South African President Nelson Mandela, who died in December (13).

The full list of 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards winners is:

Best Male: Davido (Nigeria)

Best Female: Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Best Group: Mafikizolo (South Africa)

Best New Act: Stanley Enow (Cameroon)

Best Live Act: Flavour (Nigeria)

Best Collaboration: Y-tjukutja by Uhuru featuring Oskido, DJ Bucks, Professor and Yuri Da Cunha

Best Hip Hop: Sarkodie (Ghana)

Best Alternative: Gangs of Ballet (South Africa)

Best Francophone: Toofan (Togo)

Best Lusophone: Anselmo Ralph (Angola)

Artist of the Year: Davido (Nigeria)

Song of the Year: Khona - Mafikizolo featuring Uhuru (South Africa)

Best Video: Clarence Peters (Nigeria)

Best Pop: Goldfish (South Africa)

Best International: Pharrell Williams

Personality of the Year: Lupita Nyong’o (Kenya)

MTV Base Leadership Award: Ashish J. Thakkar (Tanzania)

Transform Today Award: Clarence Peters (Nigeria)