Authors Joshua Ferris and Karen Joy Fowler have made literary history by becoming two of the first four American writers ever to make it onto the Booker Prize list.

The 2014 'longlist' was announced on Wednesday (23Jul14) - the first time Americans have been eligible for the coveted best fiction award in the 46-year-old history of the prize.

The literary honour has previously only been handed to citizens of Britain, Ireland and the Commonwealth.

In announcing this year's list, members of the prize committee revealed 154 books had been entered for the 2014 Booker Prize.

The list, which includes fellow Americans Siri Hustvedt and Richard Powers, now stands at 13 and a shortlist of six books will be announced on 9 September (14). The winner will be named in mid-October (14).

The books on the long list are:

Joshua Ferris' To Rise Again at a Decent Hour

Richard Flanagan's The Narrow Road to the Deep North

Karen Joy Fowler's We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

Siri Hustvedt's The Blazing World

Howard Jacobson's J

Paul Kingsnorth's The Wake

David Mitchell's The Bone Clocks

Neel Mukherjee's The Lives of Others

David Nicholls' Us

Joseph O'Neill's The Dog

Richard Powers' Orfeo

Ali Smith's How to be Both

Niall Williams' History of the Rain.