Reunited new wave act New Order have signed to top British indie label Mute.

The group had been a Factory Records staple since 1981, releasing nine studio albums for the label, before unveiling 2013's Lost Sirens on Warner Music, and now they are returning to their independent roots.

Announcing the new signing on Tuesday (02Sep14), Mute founder Daniel Miller says, "This is an exciting new chapter for both Mute and New Order and I feel privileged to be working with artists with such a long, creative and successful history. When the possibility of us working together first came up, I was invited to hear some of the new material and immediately had no doubts whatsoever that Mute would be the right home for New Order.

"We've already had a number of creative conversations, and I am looking towards an exciting future."

Mute's success story has included acts like Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, Depeche Mode, Plastikman and Moby.

The label's current roster includes Goldfrapp, Erasure, Plastikman, Liars, Zola Jesus and Swans.