American playwright/screenwriter Neil Simon is to be honoured with the Mark Twain Prize at New York City's Kennedy Center annual award ceremony. THE ODD COUPLE writer will be celebrated at the prestigious ceremony on 15 October (06), which celebrates entertainers who "create humour from their uniquely American experiences". This year's other recipients will include Robert Redford, Cyndi Lauper, Nathan Lane, former Seinfeld star Jason Alexander and Jaws actor RICHARD DREYFUSS.