Morgan Freeman has been named as a recipient of a 2008 Kennedy Centre award.

The Dark Knight star, as well as founders of The Who Pete Townshend and Roger Daltrey, will receive the prestigious honour at a Washington DC ceremony in December 7th.

As well as the Oscar-winning actor and legendary rock musicians, singer Barbra Streisand, country musician George Jones and choreographer Twlya Tharp will also be honoured.

Streisand said she was "humbled and thrilled" to be included on the list, which annually honours artistic figures for their contributions to American culture.

"With their extraordinary genius and tenacity, the 2008 honourees have redefined the way we see, hear and feel the performing arts," Kennedy Centre chairman Stephen Schwarzman said in a statement.

President George Bush and first lady Laura Bush will honour the 2008 recipients at a White House reception, the last of the Bush administration.

Freeman, currently recovering from a car crash in Mississippi, follows the likes of Martin Scorsese, Diana Ross and Brian Wilson in receiving a Kennedy Centre award.

10/09/2008 09:12:39