Miranda Lambert was the big winner at the 2013 Academy of Country Music (ACM) Awards last night (07.04.13), picking up three prizes.

The 29-year-old star beat off competition from Taylor Swift, Carrie Underwood, Martina McBride and Kacey Musgraves to land Female Vocalist of the Year to go with a Song of the Year and Single Record of the Year brace for her hit 'Over You', which she wrote with husband Blake Shelton about his late brother.

The blonde beauty took to the stage at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas to collect her hat-trick of accolades and thanked her fellow musicians for ''accepting'' her as a songwriter as well as a performer.

Speaking to the crowd, she said: ''As a songwriter, having your song and your lyrics recognised by your peers is pretty much as good as it gets.

''And I'm so thankful for being in this genre of country music, every single time someone's nominated, I just cheer, because I love everybody to death. So thank you for accepting me as a songwriter, not just as a singer, because that means the world to me.''

Miranda and Blake were both up for the fan-voted Entertainer of the Year award alongside Jason Aldean and Taylor - who was favourite for the accolade after winning it for the past two years - but Luke Bryan took home the prize.

It was the second award of the night for the 36-year-old star, who also won the Vocal Event of the Year gong alongside Jason and Eric Church for their song 'The Only Way I Know'.

Jason won two prizes after landing Male Vocalist of the Year, and Little Big Town scored a brace courtesy of the Vocal Group of the Year award as well as Video of the Year for 'Tornado', while Eric also took his total to two after winning Album of the Year for 'Chief'.

Taylor and Carrie were up for four and two accolades respectively, but both blonde stars ended the night empty-handed.

Full List of Winners at the 2013 ACM Awards:

Entertainer of the Year: Luke Bryan

Female Vocalist of the Year: Miranda Lambert

Male Vocalist of the Year: Jason Aldean

Single Record of the Year: 'Over You,' Miranda Lambert

Song of the Year: 'Over You,' Miranda Lambert

Vocal Group of the Year: Little Big Town

New Artist of the Year: Florida Georgia Line

Album of the Year: 'Chief', Eric Church

Vocal Duo of the Year: Thompson Square

Video of the Year: 'Tornado,' Little Big Town

Vocal Event of the Year: 'The Only Way I Know,' Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan and Eric Church

Songwriter of the Year: Dallas Davidson