MGMT, Muse, Kings Of Leon and Oasis were among the winners at the Shockwaves NME Awards in London on Wednesday night (25Feb09).
Brooklyn, New York duo MGMT grabbed two prizes - they were named Best New Band before receiving the Best Track award for Time To Pretend.
Oasis were crowned Best British Band for the fourth time in the band's career. The British rockers missed the event at the O2 Brixton Academy but sent an acceptance video featuring themselves and comedian pal Russell Brand.
Frontman Noel Gallagher was also recognised for Best Band Blog, but the group missed out on five other categories.
Muse claimed the Best Live Band prize and the Best Album Artwork award for HAARP; Kings of Leon won Best Album for Only by the Night, and The Killers were crowned Best International Band for a third consecutive year.
Other victors included Pete Doherty, who received his Best Solo Artist award from a reformed Blur, Arctic Monkeys (Best DVD for At The Apollo) and Elbow, who took home an Outstanding Contribution to Music honour.
The Cure were handed the 2009 Godlike Genius Award by Hollywood director Tim Burton, while Dizzee Rascal claimed the Best Dancefloor Filler prize and The Big Pink took home the Philip Hall Radar Award.
Meanwhile, new U.S. President Barack Obama beat Noel Gallagher to the Hero Of The Year prize, and former President George W. Bush was crowned Villain Of The Year for the sixth year running.
Not everybody was celebrating though - the Jonas Brothers picked up the unwanted Worst Album and Worst Band honours.
The list of winners is as follows:
Best British Band: Oasis
Best International Band: The Killers
Best Solo Artist: Pete Doherty
Best New Band: MGMT
Best Live Band: Muse
Best Album: Only By The Night by Kings Of Leon
Best Track: Time To Pretend by MGMT
Best Video: My Mistakes Were Made For You by The Last Shadow Puppets
Best Dancefloor Filler: Dance Wiv Me by Dizzee Rascal
Worst Album: A Little Bit Longer by Jonas Brothers
Worst Band: Jonas Brothers
Best Event: Glastonbury
Best DVD: At The Apollo by Arctic Monkeys
Outstanding Contribution to Music: Elbow
Philip Hall Radar Award: The Big Pink
Best Band Blog: Noel Gallagher/Oasis
Sexiest Male: Matt Bellamy
Sexiest Female: Hayley Williams
Hero Of The Year: Barack Obama
Villain Of The Year: George W. Bush
Best Dressed: Alexa Chung
Worst Dressed: Amy Winehouse
Best TV: The Mighty Boosh
Best Website: YouTube
Best Venue: London Astoria
Best Album Artwork: Muse for HAARP
Godlike Genius Award: The Cure