'Inside Llewyn Davis' and Matthew Mcconaughey are the big winners at this year's Gotham Awards.

The annual movie awards, which celebrates the best in independent filmmaking, has selected the '60s-set musical period drama as its Best Picture, while McConaughey has earned acclaim for his role in 'Dallas Buyers Club'.

Joel and Ethan Coen's 'Inside Llewn Davis' - which stars Oscar Isaac, Carey Mulligan and Justin Timberlake - beat competition from another big Oscar contender, '12 Years a Slave', to win the Best Picture prize.

McConaughey, meanwhile, fended off stiff competition from 'Llewyn Davis' star Oscar Isaac and '12 Years' leading man Chiwetel Ejiofor for his award.

'Short Term 12' actress Brie Larsen won the Best Actress award, beating more well-known stars including Cate Blanchett ('Blue Jasmine'), Scarlett Johansson ('Don Jon') and Shailene Woodley ('The Spectacular Now').

Drama 'Fruitvale Station' picked up two awards for star Michael B. Jordan and director Ryan Coogler, who were both award winners in breakthrough categories.

Jordan - who is heavily tipped to star in 20th Century Fox's blockbuster 'Fantastic Four' reboot - earned Best Breakthrough Actor, beating his 'Chronicle' co-star Dane DeHaan ('Kill Your Darlings') and '12 Years a Slave' actress Lupita Nyong'o.

2013 Gotham Awards winners:

Best Picture: 'Inside Llewyn Davis'

Best Actor: Matthew McConaughey, 'Dallas Buyers Club'

Best Actress: Brie Larsen, 'Short Term 12'

Breakthrough Actor: Michael B. Jordan, 'Fruitvale Station'

Breakthrough Director: Ryan Coogler , 'Fruitvale Station'