Maps' New Album 'Vicissitude' Out 8th July 2013

Maps' New Album 'Vicissitude' Out 8th July 2013

Maps - aka James Chapman - releases his brand new album 'Vicissitude on 8th July through Mute. The album is streaming exclusively on Spotify from today.

'Vicissitude' follows the recent single release, 'A.M.A.', out now on limited edition hand stamped 12" exclusive to Rough Trade Shops, and available on download as well. The vinyl includes remixes from Norwegian electronic songstress Susanne Sundfør (who collaborated previously with Maps and recently featured on the M83 soundtrack for the film 'Oblivion') as well as Dutch electronic artists Legowelt, fellow Mercury nominees The Invisible and Maps himself.

'A.M.A.', from its opening click-thump drum track and its summery cascading chorus, is a perfect introduction to two of the main themes from the new album - change and hope.

While previous album 'Turning The Mind' swung like a hedonistic after-party held after Maps' debut 'We Can Create''s Mercury Prize nomination, 'Vicissitude' has the distinct feeling of digging deep and confronting reality head on. And in each of those cases, with Chapman the sole creative force behind the music, any Maps album is defined entirely by where his head was at during the recording process.

'Vicissitude' focuses, tightens and sharpens Maps' expansive sound. The album might have been born from a long period of self-contemplation, but maybe you do need a while to get simple answers to the difficult questions. Time to face the light.

Listen to 'A.M.A.' here: