Farewell Jr Will Release Their Debut Ep 'Health' On March 11th 2013

Farewell Jr Will Release Their Debut Ep 'Health' On March 11th 2013

Having recently announced details of his debut EP 'Health', which is set for release on 11th March via the independent Talking Shop Records, Farewell JR has announced he will join Maps & Atlases on their UK tour throughout February and March. Starting in Southampton, Farewell JR will play 9 dates with Maps & Atlases before his one-off headline show at London's St Pancras Old Church on 21st March.

What initially started out as a solo project for Farewell JR front man Nick Rayner on his return to Cambridge, for what he regarded as some 'much needed time to be alone', has since grown to something much greater. Hunkered down in Cambridge, Rayner wrote, recorded, and mixed a series of stripped back songs that have come to form the basis of the 'Health' EP. He then travelled to Ireland, where, with assistant engineer Edan Ray, he recorded the stirring drums, whilst the soaring violins that characterise this EP were being recorded on the other side of the world, in Australia.

The resulting record is a collection of emotive songs that grow from sparse guitar picked melodies that recall early days Bon Iver, through to grand melodies and orchestral arrangements more reminiscent of Arcade Fire. 

Farewell JR live line up: Nick Rayner (guitar/piano/vocals), Sam McNicholl (drums/percussion), Josh Sampson (drums/percussion) and Sonny Sampson (bass).

Farewell JR live:

27 Feb - Joiners, Southampton w/ Maps and Atlases 
28 Feb - Hare & Hounds, Birmingham w/ Maps and Atlases 
2 Mar - Art School, Glasgow w/ Maps and Atlases 
3 Mar - Ruby Lounge, Manchester w/ Maps and Atlases 
4 Mar - Brudenell Social, Leeds w/ Maps and Atlases 
6 Mar - Dingwalls, London w/ Maps and Atlases 
7 Mar - Green Door Store, Brighton w/ Maps and Atlases 
8 Mar - Lousiana, Bristol w/ Maps and Atlases 
9 Mar - Marlowe Theatre Studio, Canterbury w/ Maps and Atlases 
21 Mar - St Pancras Old Church, London, headline show 

Listen to Farewell JR's 'Night Wolves' (which is also available for free download) here: 

 Night Wolves by Farewell J.R