Music legends including DESMOND CHILD, ALBERT HAMMOND and Loretta Lynn were inducted in to the Songwriters Hall of Fame Gala on Thursday (19Jun08).
They were honoured along with fellow composers Alan Menken and John Sebastian at the glitzy ceremony held at New York's Marriott Marquis Hotel.
Goo Goo Dolls star John Rzeznik was presented with the Hal David Starlight Award which recognises talented young songwriters.
Singers including John Legend, Joan Jett and Natasha Bedingfield performed at the prestigious event, which are held annually to celebrate achievements in songwriting.
Among last year's (07) inductees were Dolly Parton and John Legend.