The Kids Are All Right director Lisa Cholodenko and the man behind the final two Twilight films, Bill Condon, have been elected to the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
The filmmakers join cinematographer Dante Spinotti, executive DICk Cook, effects expert John Knoll and sound man Scott Millan as the six first-timers to join the Oscars governing body.
Returning to the board after a hiatus are director Michael Mann, producer Kathleen Kennedy and composer Arthur Hamilton.
And Tom Hanks is among the re-elected governors, who also include actors Ed Begley, Jr. and Annette Bening and Oscar-winning directors Kathryn Bigelow and Michael Moore.