Lightspeed Champion New Ep Announcement

Lightspeed Champion New Ep Announcement

Lightspeed Champion has just announced details of a new EP containing unreleased material. The four track Bye Bye EP will be available on 10" (RUG387T) and via digital download (RUG387D) from 13th December 2010.

Bye Bye opens with a magnificent cover of the Beach Boys' Til I Die, taken from their 1971 Surf's Up album, reworked in Dev Hynes' inimitable style.

The three tracks that follow were arranged by legendary composer and producer, Van Dyke Parks (Beach Boys, the Byrds, Joanna Newsom). Underwater There Is Nothing is a version of the similarly titled track from his most recent LP, Life Is Sweet! Nice To Meet You. Bye Bye Icarus and The Mess You're In are previously unheard, opulent tracks, full of strings and lush instrumentation.

Dev Hynes said the following of his experience of working with Van Dyke Parks: 'It was pretty surreal... he's someone I've listened to for what seems like forever. I found myself listening to the stems and works in progress as a fan of him, then I'd remember that it's something we're working on together... then I'd freak out... Then I'd have a drink and I'd feel fine.'

Full tracklisting for Bye Bye is as follows:

'Til I Die

Underwater There Is Nothing

Bye Bye Icarus

The Mess You're In