Academy Awards bosses will pay tribute to Hollywood legend Lauren Bacall at a ceremony this year (09) - by presenting her with an honorary Oscar.
The star was nominated for Best Supporting Actress at the Oscars in 1996 but has never won an Academy Award for her screen performances.
But she is among this year's recipients of an honorary statue, given to celebrate motion picture achievements not covered by existing Academy Awards.
Veteran director Roger Corman, who has produced more than 300 films in his career, and cinematographer Gordon Willis will also receive the award, announced by the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences on Thursday (10Sep09).
Board members also voted to present the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award to producer John Calley, whose movies include The Remains of the Day and The Da Vinci Code.
The prizes will be presented at the inaugural Governors Awards gala event in November (09).