Veteran actor Sutherland and Dunst, who won the best actress prize for Melancholia at the annual French event in 2011, are among the members of this year's (16) jury, which will be led by Mad Max: Fury Road director George Miller.

Also joining them are Hannibal star Mads Mikkelsen, French actress Vanessa Paradis, director/writer Arnaud Desplechin and Hungarian filmmaker Laszlo Nemes, whose film Son of Saul landed him the Grand Prize at Cannes last year (15), and the Best Foreign Language Film at the Oscars.

The 11 artists will be tasked with casting their votes to select the festival's top awards, including the prestigious Palme d'Or, which will be announced at the end of the festival on 22 May (16).

Among the titles in competition for that honour this year are Sean Penn's drama The Last Face, Pedro Almodovar's Julieta, American Honey, starring Shia LaBeouf and Riley Keough, and Personal Shopper, featuring Kristen Stewart.

The Cannes Film Festival kicks off on 11 May (16).