Fleet Foxes are the frontrunners for success in the 2009 Mojo honours list, with nominations in three categories.

Just 11 months after the release of their eponymous debut, the quintet's critical and commercial success continues with nominations in the album of the year and best live act categories.

They are also nominated for the song of the year prize - for White Winter Hymnal - with Kings Of Leon, Franz Ferdinand, Elbow and Animal Collective also up for the award.

Mercury winners Elbow and chart-toppers Kings of Leon are the most likely act to derail a successful night for Fleet Foxes, with a pair of nominations each while Paul Weller, winner of the 2008 Mojo award for Outstanding Contribution to Music, is up for album of the year and best live act.

Nominees for the music magazine's breakthrough act award - formerly won by Seasick Steve and the Last Shadow Puppets - include White Lies, Gallows and Glasvegas while influential 60s band the Pretty Things are to receive the Mojo Hero award.

"The Pretty Things grew up with the Stones, beat Pete Townshend to the punch when it came to spawning the idea of the concept album with their 1968 effort, SF Sorrow, and then found themselves signed to Led Zeppelin’s own label," commented Mojo editor-in-chief Phil Alexander.

"Punks before punk, they inspired everyone from David Bowie to the Mc5 along the way. In fact, ask Noel Gallagher or the Kasabian guys about them and they'll tell you just how much the Pretty Things matter.

"They are a classic British band in every sense. To my knowledge they've never won an award so this is long overdue and well deserved."

The winners will be announced at the Mojo Honour awards on June 11th.

The full nominations are:Album of the Year
Fleet Foxes: Fleet Foxes
Kings of Leon: Only By The Night
Paul Weller: 22 Dreams
Elbow: The Seldom Seen Kid
PJ Harvey and John Parish: A Woman A Man Walked By

Best Live Act
Fleet Foxes
Paul Weller
Leonard Cohen
Seasick Steve

Breakthrough Act
White Lies
Eli 'Paperboy' Reed & the True Loves
School Of Seven Bells

Compilation of the Year
Various Artists: Dark Was The Night
Various Artists: Take Me To The River: A Southern Soul Story
Various Artists: War Child: Heroes
Various Artists: The Sound Of Wonder: The First Wave of Plugged-In Pop at
the Pakistani Picture House
Various Artists: Cadillac Records OST

Song of the Year
Elbow: One Day Like This
Fleet Foxes: White Winter Hymnal
Kings of Leon: Sex On Fire
Franz Ferdinand: Ulysses
Animal Collective: My Girls

06/05/2009 12:01:01