Miranda Lambert was the big winner at last night's (06.04.14) American Country Music (ACM) awards, taking home three prizes.

The 30-year-old singer was nominated for seven awards, and picked up Female Vocalist of the Year, Vocal Event of the Year for 'We Were Us' with Keith Urban and Single Record of the Year for 'Mama's Broken Heart'.

Speaking after picking up Female Vocalist of the Year for the fifth year in a row, she paid tribute to her fellow nominees, saying: ''I was just hanging out with Trisha Yearwood back there, holy crap, and I was standing next to Sheryl Crow, a complete and utter rock star.

''And Kacey Musgraves, I grew up with her. She wrote the single of the year this year. And Carrie Underwood's my buddy, y'all, and she's a phenomenon. I can't believe it, I'm so grateful and humbled. I love my job.''

Tim Mcgraw had also been up for seven awards, but won just one, Video of the Year for 'Highway Don't Care' with Taylor Swift and Keith.

Meanwhile, George Strait picked up Entertainer of the Year, The Band Perry won Vocal Group of the Year and Jason Aldean was stunned to take home Male Vocalist of the Year for the second year running.

He said: ''This is really unexpected.

''It was a shock last year to win it and even a bigger shock this year, I think. ... It's been one hell of a ride, so I hope it doesn't end any time soon.''

The ceremony - which took place at Las Vegas' MGM Grand Garden Arena - saw a number of collaborations, with the night's co-host Blake Shelton and Shakira performing their duet 'Medicine', Fleetwood Mac's Stevie Nicks teaming with Lady Antebellum to perform the group's track 'Golden' and her band's 'Rhiannon', and Faith Hill sang 'Meanwhile Back at Mama's' with husband Tim McGraw.

Dierks Bentley and Sheryl Crow also hit the stage to perform 'I Hold On', while winners Miranda, Keith, George, and Lee Brice also performed.

Lucy Bryan also hosted the ceremony alongside Blake.

2014 ACM Winners:

Entertainer of the Year: George Strait

Male Vocalist of the Year: Jason Aldean

Female Vocalist of the Year: Miranda Lambert

Vocal Group of the Year: The Band Perry

Album of the Year: 'Same Trailer, Different Park', Kacey Musgraves

Video of the Year: 'Highway Don't Care', Tim McGraw featuring Taylor Swift and Keith Urban

Vocal Event of the Year: 'We Were Us', Keith Urban and Miranda Lambert

Vocal Duo of the Year: Florida Georgia Line

New Artist of the Year: Justin Moore

Song of the Year: 'I Drive Your Truck', Lee Brice

Single Record of the Year: 'Mama's Broken Heart', Miranda Lambert

Crystal Milestone Award: Merle Haggard