Justin Bieber has been nominated for a Black Entertainment Television (BET) award.

The 16-year-old singer's speedy rise to super-stardom, aided by R&B star Usher, has earned him a nod in the Best New Artist category at the upcoming ceremony, because he's thought of as a "crossover" artist.

Stephen Hill, BET's President of Music Programming and Specials, said: "Bieber has crossed the colour boundaries the same way that hip-hop has crossed the boundaries the other way for a number of years. He's had rhythm in his music. He makes the type of music our audience likes."

The awards - which generally only recognise black entertainers, singers, actors and athletes - will see Justin battle it out against fellow rising stars Nicki Minaj, B.o.B, Young Money and Melanie Fiona.

Rapper Jay-Z has the most nominations with five and will compete with wife Beyonce Knowles for Video of the Year, Best Collaboration and the Viewers' Choice accolade.

Other nominees include Alicia Keys, Rihanna and Kanye West.

Queen Latifah is set to present the ceremony which will air live on June 27 from the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles.

Black Entertainment Television (BET) Awards 2010 nominations:

Best Female R&B Artist:

Beyonce Knowles

Mary J. Blige

Melanie Fiona

Alicia Keys


Best Male R&B Artist:

Chris Brown

Raheem DeVaughn


Trey Songz


Best Gospel:

The Anointed Pace Sisters

Kirk Franklin Presents Artists United For Haiti

Tamela Mann

Marvin Sapp

Vickie Winans

Best Female Hip-Hop Artist:

Ester Dean

Lil Kim

Nicki Minaj



Best Male Hip-Hop Artist:






Best Group:

Black Eyed Peas


Diddy-Dirty Money

New Boyz

Young Money

Best New Artist:

Justin Bieber

Melanie Fiona

Nicki Minaj


Young Money

Best Collaboration:

Beyonce Knowles f/ Lady GaGa - 'Video Phone'

B.o.B. f/ Bruno Mars - 'Nothin' On You'

Drake & Trey Songz - 'Successful'

Drake f/ Lil Wayne, Kanye West & Eminem - 'Forever'

Jay-Z & Alicia Keys - 'Empire State of Mind'

Trey Songz f/ Fabolous - 'Say Aah'

Video of the Year:

Beyonce f/ Lady Gaga - 'Video Phone'

B.o.B. f/ Bruno Mars - 'Nothin' On You'

Melanie Fiona - 'It Kills Me'

Jay-Z & Alicia Keys - 'Empire State of Mind'

Jay-Z, Rihanna & Kanye West - 'Run This Town'

Video Director of the Year:

Benny Boom

Gil Green

Anthony Mandler

Chris Robinson

Hype Williams

Best Actress:

Taraji P. Henson

Regina King


Zoe Saldana

Gabourey Sidibe

Best Actor:

Quinton Aaron

Don Cheadle

Idris Elba

Jamie Foxx

Denzel Washington

Young Stars Award:

Selena Gomez

Lil JJ

Keke Palmer

Willow Smith

Tyler James Williams

Best Movie:


'Law Abiding Citizen'

'Michael Jackson's This Is It'

'Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire'

'The Blindside'

Subway Sportswoman of the Year:

Tamika Catchings

Vanessa James

Candace Parker

Serena Williams

Venus Williams

Subway Sportsman of the Year:

Carmelo Anthony

Usain Bolt

Kobe Bryant

LeBron James

Tiger Woods

Viewers Choice Nominees:

Beyonce Knowles - 'Sweet Dreams'

Jay-Z & Alicia Keys - 'Empire State of Mind'

Monica - 'Everything To Me'

Rihanna f/ Young Jeezy - 'Hard'

Trey Songz f/ Fabolous - 'Say Aah'

Young Money (Lil Wayne, Gudda Gudda, Nicki Minaj, Jae Millz, Drake, Tyga) f/ Lloyd - 'Bedrock'

Centric Award:

Melanie Fiona


Chrisette Michele



Best International Act:

Kojo Antwi (Ghana)

Chipmunk (UK)

Dizzee Rascal (UK)

Estelle (UK)

Hip Hop Pantsula (HHP) (South Africa)

K'NAAN (Somalia)

M.I. (Nigeria)

P-Square (Nigeria)

Corinne Bailey Rae (UK)

Sade (UK)