The Avengers sweeps Saturn Awards

'The Avengers' triumphed at the 39th annual Saturn Awards last night (26.06.13).

The blockbuster Marvel superhero movie took home four awards - including Best Science Fiction Film - at the yearly awards ceremony which honours science fiction, fantasy and horror movies.

The film also earned Joss Whedon the Best Director award, as well as Best Special Effects, and Best Supporting Actor for Clark Gregg, who played S.H.I.E.L.D.'s Agent Coulson.

On top of the success of 'The Avengers', Whedon had more reason to celebrate as 'Cabin in the Woods' - which he wrote - won Best Horror Film. Elsewhere, Ang Lee's Oscar-winning 'Life of Pi' took home the Best Fantasy Film award.

The top acting prizes went to 'The Hunger Games' beauty Jennifer Lawrence, for her role as heroine Katniss Everdeen, and 'Killer Joe' star Matthew Mcconaughey.

Continuing her Best Supporting Actress winning spree, Anne Hathaway swept the category for her role as Catwoman in 'The Dark Knight Rises'. Earlier this year, the starlet won an award in the same category at the Academy Awards for 'Les Miserables', in which she played Fantine.

'Life of Pi' star Suraj Sharma won the award for Best Performance by a Young Actor, and rounding out the awards, Tim Burton's 'Frankenweenie' took the Best Animated Film prize.

An alternative to the Oscars - which predominantly honour dramatic movies - the Saturn Awards are decided by the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films and recognise genre movies.

2013 Saturn Award partial winners list:

Best Science Fiction Film: 'The Avengers'

Best Fantasy Film: 'Life of Pi'

Best Horror Film: 'Cabin in the Woods'

Best Animated Film: 'Frankenweenie'

Best Director: Joss Whedon, 'The Avengers'

Best Actor: Matthew McConaughey, 'Killer Joe'

Best Actress: Jennifer Lawrence, 'The Hunger Games'

Best Supporting Actor: Clark Gregg, 'The Avengers'

Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway, 'The Dark Knight Rises'

Best Performance by a Young Person: Suraj Sharma, 'Life of Pi'


Joss Whedon Clark Gregg Jennifer Lawrence Matthew Mcconaughey Anne Hathaway Suraj Sharma