Josh Ritter Unreleased Tracks And UK Tour Dates April 2011

Josh Ritter Unreleased Tracks And UK Tour Dates April 2011

So Runs The World Away is the fifth full-length recording from renowned singer-songwriter Josh Ritter, who has been widely heralded by critics and fans alike. Of the Idaho-native, Paste magazine declares, "Put simply, Ritter is the most gifted interpreter of Americana, as an arranger and a lyricist, working today."

Recorded over 15 months at the Great North Sound Society in Maine, with additional recording at Brooklyn's Saltlands Studio, So Runs The World Away continues Ritter's longtime collaboration with producer and keyboard player Sam Kassirer. Additionally, the album features the return of Ritter's core line-up of touring bandmates: Zack Hickman, Austin Nevins and Liam Hurley.

Of the record, Ritter says, "I think of the songs on So Runs the World Away like pictures painted in oil on large canvasses. It's a record preoccupied with the extremes of scale, from infinitesimal particles to the nearly incomprehensible distances between the head of a pin and a nebula. Where the songs felt large to me, I wanted them to be huge, both musically and lyrically. I wanted them to feel like the steel hulls of massive ships sliding by deeply from below. Where they were small, I concentrated in on the smallest details that I could and we tried to make the music and the words work together. I love writing, and this was the most fulfilling record I've yet written."

Is proud to announce a limited-edition EP available at the April UK & Ireland tour dates.


12th Apr Edinburgh, UK - Liquid Room

13th Apr Belfast, Ireland - Mandela Hall

15th Apr Dublin, Ireland - Vicar Street

16th April Dublin, Ireland - Vicar Street (2nd Night Added!)

18th Apr London, UK - Scala

19th Apr London, UK - Scala

20th Apr Pocklington, UK - Pocklington Arts Center (Josh Solo) [SOLD OUT]

* Tift Merritt supports

Featuring six songs from the 'So Runs the World Away' album recording sessions previously unreleased, including 'Galahad'.

Available at the merch table at all the dates (first come, first served!)

and also, select indie stores and on iTunes now.


1. Galahad (studio b-side)

2. Tokyo! (studio b-side)

3. Wild Goose (for Rainn Wilson's book SoulPancake)

4. Lantern (acoustic Josh and Sam demo)

5. The Remnant (Wallpaper remix) - free MP3 above!

6. Rattling Locks (Hesta Prynn remix)