New 'Star Wars' films will be released every year from 2015.

Disney has announced its ambitious plans to release a new movie in the space franchise every year between 2015 and 2019, including three continuations to the original 'Star Wars' series and two spin-off movies.

'Star Trek Into Darkness' director J.J. Abrams is confirmed to helm the highly anticipated 'Star Wars Episode VII', which will be a direct sequel to George Lucas' original trilogy, and the flick will be followed by 'Episode VIII' in 2017 and 'Episode IX' in 2019.

Disney chief Alan Horn confirmed at film convention CinemaCon in Las Vegas that there will also be two standalone movies featuring existing characters released in the interval years - 2016 and 2018 - between the installments.

It's not yet known which characters may get a spin-off movie, but it was previously rumoured that Jedi master Yoda could be the subject of the first movie.

Disney acquired rights to the 'Star Wars' franchise after buying LucasFilm from director George Lucas, who gave his blessing for the space saga to continue and will serve as consulting producer on the new movies.

Abrams' 'Star Wars Episode VII' will be written by Michael Arndt and will reportedly feature the returns of Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher and Harrison Ford, who led the cast of the original trilogy.

'Star Wars Episode VII' is due for release in 2015.