Hip-hop mogul Jermaine Dupri is to be honoured at the 22nd annual POP MUSIC AWARDS in May with a special prize from The American Society Of Composers, Authors And Publishers (ASCAP).

The producer, who was recently named the new president of VIRGIN RECORDS' Urban Music Division, will be presented with the GOLDEN NOTE AWARD during the Los Angeles ceremony.

The event will also honour the songwriters and publishers of ASCAP's most performed songs of 2004.

Dupri joins a select group of songwriters and composers including GARTH BROOKS, SEAN 'P DIDDY' COMBS, Elton John and Stevie Wonder.

Rocker Neil Young will also be honoured at the gala - he'll be presented with the ASCAP Founders Award which pays tribute to pioneering songwriters who have made exceptional contributions to music.

Young joins Burt Bacharach, Elvis Costello, Paul McCartney and JONI MITCHELL in picking up the award.

25/03/2005 20:18