The singer and songwriter took home gongs for Album of the Year for Something More Than Free and Song of the Year for his tune 24 Frames.

Accepting the prizes during the ceremony at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Tennessee, Isbell told the audience: "This community has given us a place that was a lot bigger than it used to be.

"I am not a part of the first generation or the second generation or even the third generation of Americana performers."

The wins are the latest in a string of victories for Isbell, who took home two Grammy Awards at the 2016 ceremony.

Meanwhile, Chris Stapleton took home the Artist of the Year gong at the Americana Music Honors and Awards.

The prospect of playing at the annual ceremony was one Stapleton had thought about for many years, and he told the crowd he was thrilled to have been recognised at such a prestigious event.

"I used to play in a little bluegrass band called the SteelDrivers," he said. "We were just starting out, and we would beg and beg and beg to do something. So to be here tonight means a great deal to me."

Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell took home the award for Duo/group of the Year, Margo Price was named Emerging Artist of the Year and fiddler Sara Watkins won the Instrumentalist of the Year gong.

Meanwhile, Grateful Dead guitarist Bob Weir received a standing ovation from the crowd when he was named the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award for performance, before songwriter William Bell received the Songwriter equivalent and performed alongside Bonnie Raitt after accepting the honour.

The full list of Americana Music Honors and Awards 2016 Winners is as follows:

Album of the Year: Something More Than Free, Jason Isbell, Produced by Dave Cobb

Artist of the Year: Chris Stapleton

Group/Duo of the Year: Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell

Song of the Year: 24 Frames, Jason Isbell

Emerging Artist of the Year: Margo Price

Instrumentalist of the Year: Sara Watkins

Spirit of Americana/Free Speech in Music Award: Billy Bragg

Lifetime Achievement Award, Trailblazer: Shawn Colvin

Lifetime Achievement Award, Songwriting: William Bell

Lifetime Achievement Award, Performance: Bob Weir

Lifetime Achievement Award, WagonMaster: Jim Lauderdale

President's Award: Woody Guthrie