Moviemaking brothers Joel and Ethan Coen have been appointed presidents of the jury, which will also feature French star Sophie Marceau, Spanish actress Rossy de Palma, Canadian director Xavier Dolan and composer Rokia Traore.

The nine artists will be tasked with casting their votes to select the festival's top honourees, including the prize for the prestigious Palme d'Or, which will be announced at the end of the annual French bash on 24 May (15).

Among the titles in competition include Cate Blanchett's Carol, Gus Van Sant's The Sea of Trees, starring Matthew MCConaughey, and Michael Fassbender's take on MACbeth, directed by Justin Kurzel.

The Cannes Film Festival kicks off on 13 May (15).