The Rush Hour star will join revered film editor Anne V. Coates and documentary filmmaker Frederick Wiseman among those saluted at the Governors Awards on 12 November (16).

Officials at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences voted on this year's recipients on Tuesday (30Aug16).

"The Honorary Award was created for artists like Jackie Chan... true pioneers and legends in their crafts," Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs says in a statement. "The Board is proud to honor their extraordinary achievements, and we look forward to celebrating with them at the Governors Awards in November."

Joining Chan, 90-year-old Coates, who won an Oscar for editing 1962's Lawrence of Arabia, and Wiseman as one of this year's lifetime achievement honourees is 88-year-old casting director Lynn Stalmaster, who helped assemble casts for films like In The Heat of the Night, The Graduate, Tootsie, and The Right Stuff.

Last year’s honourees included Gena Rowlands and Spike Lee.