Long-running Chester-based soap Hollyoaks has taken away some of the biggest prizes from this year's British Soap Awards.

Held in London and celebrating its tenth anniversary, the bash saw some of the UK's finest young actors hit the red carpet alongside presenters Fern Britton and Philip Schofield. Ex-Destiny's Child singer Kelly Rowland was also in attendance and presented the sexiest male award to last year's winner, Rob James Collier.

Collier, who plays conflicted factory manager Liam Connor in Coronation Street, was up against fellow hunks such as Ryan Thomas, Robert Kazinsky, Ricky Whittle and James Sutton.

But Hollyoaks started its winning streak early when sexiest female went to Roxanne Mckee, who plays gangster's moll Louise Summers.

Matt Littler and Darren Jon Jeffries, who star as juice bar owners Max Cunningham and Sam "OB" O'Brien, were given the title of best onscreen partnership, beating the likes of Roy Cropper ad Ronnie Mitchell to the punch.

Hollyoaks also took the gong for best exit. It was nominated twice - once for The Departure of scheming cheat Clare Cunningham and again for the love-stricken fleeing of Craig Dean - but it was Gemma Bissix's portrayal of Clare that finally won. The Chester town also saw its fair share of dramatic events throughout the last 12 months and won the award for spectacular scene of the year - when the aforementioned Clare took some rather nasty revenge.

Lastly, it was two of the biggest award of the night that went to young Hollyoaks stars. Emma Rigby's portrayal of anorexic Hannah Ashworth won her the title of best actress, while Chris Fountain was awarded best actor.

Five soaps are eligible for winning awards at the bash - Coronation Street, Eastenders, Hollyoaks, Doctors and Emmerdale - and Hollyoaks went home with six prizes, beating Coronation Street's total of five.

Soap fans can watch the bash on ITV1 this Wednesday at 20:00 BST, followed by aftershow highlights The Party on ITV2 at 22:00 BST.

Winners in full:

Sexiest male - Rob James Collier
Sexiest female - Roxanne McKee
Best newcomer - Michelle Keegan
Best dramatic performance - Jo Joyner
Best dramatic performance from a young actor - Jamie Borthwick
Best comedy performance - Maggie Jones
Villain of the year - Jack P Shepherd
Best onscreen partnership - Matt Littler and Darren Jon Jeffries
Best storyline - Max and Stacey's affair
Best exit - Gemma Bissix
Special achievement - Tim Fee
Spectacular scene of the year - Car off cliff in Hollyoaks
Best single episode - Daniel's death
Lifetime achievement - Liz Dawn
Best actor - Chris Fountain
Best actress - Emma Rigby
Best British soap - Eastenders

04/05/2008 10:24:48