Guards Announce Headline Show In London On October 15th 2013 Plus Tour With Mgmt

Guards Announce Headline Show In London On October 15th 2013 Plus Tour With Mgmt

One of the most exciting live bands of the moment, Guards were one of the stand-out acts at Coachella and this year's Great Escape in Brighton so it is with great excitement that we announce that they are main support on the forthcoming MGMT tour.  A live show that takes the blueprint of their debut album, 'In Guards We Trust', and sends it stratospheric, they'll be the perfect touring companions to the New York psych-juggernauts.  For a chance to see them in more intimate surrounds,  The band also play a headline show at The Shacklewell Arms on October 15th with support from Death Club.

Before that Guards ready another reverb-heavy, fuzz-pop tune from their acclaimed debut album. New single, 'Coming True' is released on 4th November 2013 through Partisan Records,  which has already garnered support from the likes of Fearne and Phil & Alice on Radio 1.

The debut record itself erupts from the speakers, a whirlwind of Phil Spector atmospherics, stomping drums, hazy spiralling guitar lines, and harmony-drenched psychedelic pop vocals.

The songs harness big hooks and choruses with enough fuzz-pedal to keep things suitably lo-fi, but with more melodies in each song than many bands manage over the course of an album.

You might be aware of Guards' protagonist already. Richie Follin is the guitarist in indie-pop band Cults. While on tour, Follin and Cults drummer Loren Humphrey (who Follin worked with in garage-rock band The Willowz) spent much of their downtime writing songs and getting ideas down onto tape. The resulting demos, with Follin on lead vocals, sounded fresh and exciting, and thus Guards were born. The band became a very real prospect when LA friend, Kaylie Church joined on keyboards and dual-vocals.

The innate understanding that Follin and Humphrey have built through years of practice and global touring together is unmistakable, and the addition Kaylie Church's restrained vocal presence acts as a huge weapon in Guards' arsenal throughout the record.

'Coming True' is a pulsating gem, and another assured example of why Guards' profile is ever-expanding across the globe.

Thurs 26-Sep - Cologne - Live Music Hall
Fri 27-Sep - Brussels - AB
Sun 29-Sep - Oslo - Cirkus
Mon 30-Sep - Stockholm - Sentrum Scene
Tues 1-Oct - Copenhagen - Vega
Thurs 3-Oct - Berlin - Astra
Fri 4-Oct - Vienna
Sat 5-Oct - Munich
Sun 6-Oct - Zurich - Komplex
Tues 8-Oct - Paris - Olympia
Wed 9-Oct - Hamburg - Docks
Thurs 10-Oct - Utrecht - Vrendenburg
Sat 12-Oct - Glasgow - ABC1
Sun 13-Oct - Wolverhampton - Civic
Mon 14-Oct - Manchester - Apollo
Wed 16-Oct - London - Forum
Sat 19-Oct - Dublin - Olympia
Tues 15 - Oct - London,  The Shacklewell Arms -