Scottish rockers Franz Ferdinand picked up two gongs at the DANISH MUSIC AWARDS in Copenhagen, Denmark, on Saturday (05MAR05).

The TAKE ME OUT stars won the International Breakthrough Act Of The Year title and International Hit Of The Year with TAKE ME OUT, while Irish rockers U2 took home the International Album of the Year trophy for HOW TO DISMANTLE AN ATOMIC BOMB.

Homegrown rockers NEPHEW - fronted by heart-throb singer/comedian SIMON KVAM (corr) - were the biggest winners on the night, taking home five top awards including Danish Rock Record Of The Year with platinum sellers USADSB (corr), Danish Group Of The Year and Danish Hit Of The Year with MOVIE KLIP (corr).

Other winners on the night included SWAN LEE singer PERNILLE ROSENDAHL and rapper BURHAN G, while Danish rock diva SANNE SALOMONSEN collected a lifetime achievement award.

A host of popular local acts including Junior Senior, NICK + JAY, SAYBIA and Nephew performed live.

08/03/2005 09:32