The group, fronted by singer Florence Welch, is in the running for the coveted honour, which fetes the best British/Irish album of the year, with How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful.

The nod comes six years after the band's previous nomination in 2009 for Lungs - they lost out to rapper Speech Debelle - and tops a stellar year for the group following a career-defining headline set at Britain's Glastonbury Festival over the summer (15).

Other nominees for this year's (15) prize include former Moloko star Roisin Murphy, who is nominated for her solo album Hairless Toys, and former Supergrass frontman Gaz Coombes for his record Matador.

Coombes was previously nominated for the prize back in 1994 for Supergrass' debut album I Should Coco.

Aphex Twin (Syro), Ghost Poet (Shedding Skin), Slaves (Are You Satisfied), Wolf Alice (My Love Is Cool), Soak (Before We Forgot How To Dream), Jamie xx (In Colour), Eska (Eska), C Duncan (Architect) and Benjamin Clementine (At Least For Now) make up the rest of the list.

The prize will be handed out during a ceremony in London on 20 November (15).