Empire Of The Sun Announce Their Return With Album Release Of 'Ice On The Dune' In June 2013

Empire Of The Sun Announce Their Return With Album Release Of 'Ice On The Dune' In June 2013

Electronic pioneers Empire of the Sun are back with their second album 'Ice On The Dune', which is set for release in June 2013. This time around Emperor Steele and Lord Littlemore face an unprecedented challenge in their bid to restore peace to the world, 1000 years into the future. 

In 2008, two of Australia's leading musician/producers Luke Steele (The Sleepy Jackson) and Nick Littlemore (Pnau) created a vision that seemed to come from an alternative reality - a post-apocalyptic psychedelic adventure known as Empire Of The Sun. The resulting album 'Walking On A Dream' went on to sell a million-plus copies worldwide, spawning the singles 'We Are The People', 'Walking On A Dream', 'Standing on the Shore', 'Without You' and 'Half Mast'. 2 BRIT nominations (including Best International Album), 8 ARIA awards (including Album of the Year), and many more accolades followed.

The Empire live show became the highlight of many summer festivals with its larger-than-life production featuring jaw-dropping visuals, dancing swordfish girls, cryo-bazookas, and other-worldy special effects. SPIN praised the band's 2011 Coachella performance, observing: 'The easiest way to blast off wasn't with MDMA, LSD, peyote, or any other mind-expanding drug. It was with sci-fi Australian dance outfit Empire of the Sun, whose set at the Outdoor Theatre was out of this world.'  The show will hit the road again from May 2013 and the band have been confirmed as headliners for UK arts led Wilderness Festival on 9th - 11th August 2013. 

Empire Of The Sun became equally known for their colourful and creative music videos, having chalked up a total in excess of 40 million YouTube views. This time around, the duo have taken their vision to another level as seen in the trailer (entitled 'Discovery') for the forthcoming album which was revealed today.