The 2009 ARIA Awards belonged to Australian rockers Empire of the Sun, who took home four trophies at the country's most prestigious music ceremony.
The electronic music duo was honoured as the Best Group of the year, while their album Walking on a Dream was named the Best Pop Release and Album of the Year at the 23rd annual Australian Recording Industry Association Music Awards in Sydney on Thursday (26Nov09).
Just one-half of the duo, frontman Luke Steel, was on hand to pick up the haul - but he made sure to thank bandmate Nick Littlemore while onstage.
He told the crowd, "This record is such a great testimony to chemistry. You can't buy it. Like The Beatles, Nick and I had natural chemistry. I'd like to thank Nicholas Littlemore, my main collaborator. Let's hear it for Nick."
Empire of the Sun also won Best Single of the Year but were denied the Highest Selling Album title after AC DC's Black Ice came out on top. Black Ice was also named the Best Rock Album.
Soul singer Daniel Merriweather was victorious as Best Male Artist, while Sarah Blasko was crowned Best Female Artist.
It was a top night for New Zealand-born singer Ladyhawke, too, as she scooped the Best Breakthrough Album honour for her self-titled debut and Best Breakthrough Single for My Delirium.
Australian Idol runner-up Jessica Mauboy was also celebrating after her track Running Back was declared 2009's Highest Selling Single.