Ellie Goulding and Bruno Mars were the first winners at the BRIT Awards in London on Wednesday night (19Feb14), picking up British Female Solo Artist and International Male Solo Artist at the O2 Arena.

The Burn hitmaker fought back tears as she accepted the night's first prize from Prince, who hit the stage with his new girl band 3rdEyeGirl.

The emotional singer said, "Thank you so much, I genuinely am actually in shock... I'm shaking, thank you so much this means so much to me, I can't tell you."

She took to Twitter.com an hour after her big win and added, "so overwhelmed. Thankyou (sic) everyone."

Mars continued an amazing February (14) - after headlining the Super Bowl half-time show - by picking up the International Male Brit award for a second time after previously winning the trophy in 2012.

Meanwhile, One Direction scooped the Global Success Award for the second year and David Bowie and Daft Punk were no-shows for their Best Male Artist and Best International Group honours - supermodel Kate Moss collected Bowie's award and Chic star Nile Rodgers, who worked with Daft Punk on their 2013 mega-hit Get Lucky, was on hand to pick up the duo's prize.

British rockers Arctic Monkeys, who picked up the Best British Group award for a third time, kicked off the awards ceremony with a performance of their hit RU Mine?, while Katy Perry also hit the stage early, dressed as a day-glo Egyptian queen, to sing her latest song Dark Horse.

But neither act could match the grace of the night's special guest, Beyonce, who performed her track Xo for the first time on Tv at the Brits.

As Wenn went to press, the winners so far at the 2014 BRIT Awards are:

Global Success Award: One Direction

Best British Group: Arctic Monkeys

Best British Breakthrough Act: Bastille

Best International Male: Bruno Mars

Best British Female Solo Artist: Ellie Goulding

Best British Male Solo Artist: David Bowie

Best British Single: Waiting All Night by Rudimental

Best International Group: Daft Punk

Best International Female: Lorde

Critics Choice Award: Sam Smith