Doldrums Announce Debut Album 'Lesser Evil' Out Feb 25th 2012

Doldrums Announce Debut Album 'Lesser Evil' Out Feb 25th 2012

With his new 7" single 'She is the Wave' out this week on Souterrain Transmissions and a European tour with Purity Ring heading to the UK imminently, Montreal producer Doldrums has finally announced plans for his debut album & at the same time launched a brand new video.

The album 'Lesser Evil' will be released on February 25th through Souterrain Transmissions in Europe and Arbutus in North America. Track listing, artwork & full tour dates are below.

In the mean time, the 7" single 'She is the Wave' b/w 'Dystopia' is available HERE. 'She is the Wave' provides a new glimpse into the intense, intoxicating & unsettled world of Airick Woodhead. Developing the chaotic yet brilliant take on the warehouse club jam that has already become a Doldrums trademark, the track brings together samples, beats and Woodhead's boyish-verging-on-androgynous vocals to create a track that is at once exhilarating and disorientating.

The new video for 'She is the Wave' was directed by Emily Kai Block (who also directly Grizzly Bear "Yet Again" and Grimes "Oblivion").

Doldrums' music deals with the loss of the individual, a bodiless, Soma-fried peeling back of surface emotions to expose an attitude both utterly bleak and mesmerizing

In 2011, after hearing Doldrums' interpretation of their song 'Chase the Tear', Portishead released his song as the b-side to their single. At the same time, new tracks fell into the hands of cult London indie label No Pain In Pop, and were quickly confirmed for release as 'Empire Sound', his debut EP.

In 2012 he signed to Berlin label Souterrain Transmissions, releasing the 'Egypt' 12" EP, and has since toured extensively with a new three-piece live set up, taking in shows with Grimes, Unknown Mortal Orchestra and stand out performances at SXSW, The Great Escape, CMJ, Pop Montreal & Iceland Airwaves. The trio have developed a captivating live show so fuelled with energy and adrenaline that it often teeters dangerously on the brink of collapse, yet it's on that edge that the world of Doldrums is at it's most intoxicating.

LESSER EVIL track listing:

Side A



She is the Wave (feat. Guy Dallas)



Holographic Sand Castles (feat. Sami Nacomi)

Side B

Singularity Acid Face

Lesser Evil

Golden Calf

Lost in Everyone

Painted Black