Dodgy Announce May / June 2013 UK Tour (Back To Back)

Dodgy Announce May / June 2013 UK Tour (Back To Back)

Two albums The Dodgy Album (1993) and Stand Upright In A Cool Place (2012) performed in their entirety by the original members of Dodgy
This year is the 20th (Platinum) anniversary of the release of The Dodgy Album, the band's debut LP. This coupled with the success of their recent comeback album Stand Upright In A Cool Place has prompted this series of live dates through MAY and JUNE, highlighting the 'now' and 'then' of Dodgy performing both albums live.
The Dodgy Album set includes tracks such as the singles 'Lovebirds' and 'Water Under The Bridge',  the track acknowledged by the likes of Oasis as defining aspects of the Britpop sound before the term was even invented.

In 2012 the original line-up of Dodgy released a new album Stand Upright In A Cool Place, receiving universal acclaim, 4 and 5 star reviews and prompting The Word magazine to say

"They've just made the record of their career by a country mile"

Keep checking as more dates are to be confirmed very soon.

May  June
8          BRECON Brycheiniog      1          ST AGNES  The Taphouse**
9          BURY Met *   6          BRISTOL Thunderbolt ** 
10        CANNOCK Prince of Wales Theatre  8          BIDEFORD Palladium
17         GLASGOW Abc  27        WHITELY BAY Playhouse
18         GREENOCK Word Up  29        HULL Adelphi
19         EDINBURGH The Voodoo Rooms   
23         LIVERPOOL Lomax   
24         LEEDS Cockpit   
25         BANGOR Hendre Hall   
31         SCILLY ISLES Scillonian Club, StMarys**  

*   Tickets from snowed off/rescheduled January show are valid
** Acoustic, not strictly Back to Back show

It is with some irony that as sales of the new album by Dodgy have grown, through word of mouth and social media, it has nearly matched that achieved by their debut.

The fact that The Dodgy Album achieved modest sales on it's release, is more of testament to a time when a record company (in this case A&M) would develop and stick by an emerging artist, a commitment that enabled Dodgy to go on to make the gold and platinum chart albums Homegrown and Free Peace Sweet.

The Dodgy Album was recorded at Parr Street Studios in Liverpool, produced by The Lightning Seeds Ian Broudie and also an early career marker for mix engineer Cenzo Townshend, who is now one of the UK's most sought after and respected mixer/producer including recent credits such as The Vaccines 'The Vaccines Come of Age', The Maccabees 'Given To The Wild' and work with The Kaiser Chiefs, Snow Patrol and Miles Kane. The video for 'Water Under The Bridge' was also one of the first commissions for director Jamie Thraves who after directing further videos for Blur, The Verve and an award winning video for Coldplay's 'The Scientist' went on to write and direct feature films such as his latest 'Treacle Jnr.'
For Dodgy playing these two albums together makes most sense musically. Songs such as 'Cold Tea' and 'Grand Old English Oak Tree' are live favourites from the first album and the harmonies and pastoral folk influences are something also featured on Stand Upright In A Cool Place, which takes much of it's inspiration from folk tales from the Malvern Hills. Playing both these albums will be a challenge and one that the band is relishing.