Veteran DJ Paul Oakenfold founded the ceremony as part of his Electronic Music Awards and Foundation, and on Thursday (18Feb16) some of the biggest names in electronic dance music were shortlisted in seven categories for the inaugural prizegiving.

Diplo leads the way with three nominations, including Radio Show of the Year (Diplo and Friends, BBC Radio 1) and DJ of the Year, against Carl Cox, Dixon, DJ Harvey and Skrillex.

He is also up for Single of the Year for Lean On, his Major Lazer collaboration with DJ Snake and MO. They will vie for the top prize against The Chainsmokers feat. ROZES, Galantis, Kygo feat. Parson James, and Calvin Harris & Disciples.

Harris is also competing in the Album of the Year category, along with Alina Baraz & Galimatias, Disclosure, Galantis and Jamie xx.

Other categories highlighted in the ceremony will be Best New Artist, Festival of the Year and Best Club of the Year.

The Electronic Music Awards will take place in the U.S. on 23 April (16).