British singer Dido has been named Songwriter of The Year at the 28th annual ASCAP Awards in London.
The Wednesday night (15Oct08) American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) prizegiving also honoured Solid hitmakers Ashford + Simpson, while Kate Nash and The Kooks received special awards.
Nash received the ASCAP Vanguard Award for her platinum selling debut album, Made of Bricks, and The Kooks were honoured with the ASCAP College Award for their multi-platinum selling debut album, Inside In/Inside Out.
Corinne Bailey Rae's global smash hit Put Your Records On was named Song of the Year.
Radiohead star Jonny Greenwood, Howard Goodall and Elizabeth Fraser were among the composers honoured for their film and TV theme work.
Greenwood composed the score for There Will Be Blood, Goodall created the music for Mr Bean's Holiday and Fraser was honoured for her work on TV medical drama House.
Other honourees at the Grosvenor House ceremony included Academy Award-winning songwriter Annie Lennox, who collected her eighth ASCAP Award, Paulo Nutini, Phil Collins, Def Leppard, The Human League, Paul MCCartney, New Order, Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, U2 and Yusuf Islam.