Destroyer Announces 'Five Spanish Songs' Ep To Be Released 2nd December 2013

Destroyer Announces 'Five Spanish Songs' Ep To Be Released 2nd December 2013

Following on from the magnificent 'Kaputt', Destroyer will release 'Five Spanish Songs' EP on the2nd December through Dead Oceans in the UK and Europe. The EP, comprised of songs written by Spanish musician Antonio Luque of the band Sr. Chinarro, will also be accompanied by a solo acoustic tour by Destroyer's Dan Bejar in December. Tickets are selling fast, this will be your last chance to see Destroyer live until 2015! A full list of dates is below, including a London show at Bush Hall, also on the 2nd December.

Produced by JC/DC and recorded at their studio in Vancouver earlier this summer, 'Five Spanish Songs' features musical contributions from Nicolas Bragg, David Carswell, John Collins (also of The New Pornographers), Stephen Hamm, and Josh Wells (also of Black Mountain, Lightning Dust). The EP relinquishes the daily shackles of the English language, making tracks like 'Babieca' glide our of the speakers with Balearic grace and EP openener 'Maria De Las Nieves' recalls great world-weary moments like 'Song For America'. Five tracks all serving a great reminder of Destroyer's laconic genius.

Dan Bejar writes:

"It was 2013. The English language seemed spent, despicable, not easily singable. It felt over for English; good for business transactions, but that's about it. The only other language I know is Spanish, and the only Spanish songs I really know are those of Sr. Chinarro, led by Antonio Luque. I've been a decades-long fan of how he conducted his affairs, his strange words, his melodies that have always felt so natural (this is important), his bitter songs about painting the light. Something about them, I knew I could do it."

Destroyer live dates:
01-Dec - Le Guess Who? Festival, Utrecht (NL) 
02-Dec - Bush Hall, London (UK)
03-Dec - Jazzhouse CPH, Copenhagen (DK) 
04-Dec - Skwer, Warsaw (PL) 
05-Dec - Hau1, Berlin (GER)
06-Dec - Musicbox, Lisbon (POR)
07-Dec - CCVF, Guimaraes (POR)
09-Dec - Sala Apolo, Barcelona (ES)
10-Dec - Gazteszena, San Sebastian (ES)