They will join Chicago and Steve Miller as the honourees during the 31st ceremony at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York on 8 April (16).

Acts who failed to make the final cut include Chic, Nine Inch Nails, The Smiths, Janet Jackson and Chaka Khan.

CHEAP TRICK guitarist Rick Nielsen admits he is pleased the news is finally out because he hated keeping it a secret, telling Rolling Stone, "Usually I'm a man of many words, but this has got me in a tizzy here. I'm verklempt (emotional). I don't know what to say. It's very exciting... It was people from the record company who said, 'Congratulations. Don't tell anybody.' I don't think I've gotten any official thing. I need to see a signed paper... I was prepared to not get it and say, 'Oh, well, better luck next time'."

Steve Miller adds to the publication, "I was very pleased and happy about it... It wasn't (something I expected). I hadn't really thought much about it. When it came up earlier this year, I was really surprised and amazed to watch all the voting and all the stuff that's going on..."

N.w.a star Ice Cube says, "I'm extremely excited about it... It's hard to sum up exactly what it means. It means a lot of things. It means that the group's mark is kind of solidified. It's all legitimized in a way because the whole music industry has to honor the group in a way... I think everyone now at this point, no matter how you feel about us, understands what the group actually did and what it means to modern music."

Deep Purple rocker Ian Paice, who recently admitted he feared his band would be left out of the 2016 inductions because there are so many members, concludes, "I knew it would probably happen one day. I do appreciate how difficult it probably was for them to do it with so many line-ups, so many different members. It's a minefield, really. I suppose it's rather nice."