Officials at The Recording Academy have chosen Elvis' Jailhouse Rock from 1957, Bowie's 1972 hit Changes, and Nirvana's Smells Like Teen Spirit from 1991 among the songs to enter the Hall of Fame.

Other tracks to be enshrined include The Jackson 5's ABC, The Beach Boys' I Get Around, R.E.M.'s Losing My Religion, I Got You Babe by Sonny & Cher, and Rod Stewart's Maggie May.

Meanwhile, Prince's 1987 studio project Sign o' the Times, Merle Haggard's Okie From Muskogee album, and N.W.A.'s Straight Outta Compton disc have also been recognised by Hall of Fame executives.

In a statement announcing the news, Neil Portnow, president/CEO of The Recording Academy, says: "The Grammy Hall Of Fame represents all genres of music, acknowledging the diversity of musical expression for which The Academy has become renowned.

"Memorable and inspiring, these recordings are proudly added to our growing catalog and are an integral part of our musical, social and cultural history."

Recordings only become eligible for recognition 25 years after their release.

The 25 new additions to the Grammy Hall of Fame, which is currently in its 44th year, take its total recordings to 1,038 to date.