Superproducer Danger Mouse is set to release his long-anticipated collaboration album - after a legal dispute with his record company forced him to scrap the project.
The Gnarls Barkley star - real name Brian Burton - teamed up with rockers Sparklehorse and legendary filmmaker David Lynch to produce the 13-track album, featuring contributions from Iggy Pop, The Strokes' Julian Casablancas, The Flaming Lips, and The Pixies.
Burton was furious when plans to release Dark Night Of The Soul last May (09) were cancelled following a spat with record label EMI, and he protested by putting out a blank CD-R instead.
The disc came with a label that explained it contained no music "for legal reasons" and instructed fans to "use it as you will", perceived by many as an instruction to download the tracks online.
But Burton is now looking forward to fans hearing the music after solving the legal issues.
He tells BBC 6 Music, "The problems of last year are last year, so hopefully it will be out soon in June or something like that."
An EMI spokesperson adds, "We can confirm that EMI are working with Brian Burton AKA Danger Mouse again, and are delighted to be doing so."
The album will also feature performances from Super Furry Animals rocker Gruff Rhys and The Cardigans' Nina Persson.