Rock 'n' roll icon Chuck Berry is to be the recipient of the 2014 Polar Music Prize.

The Johnny B. Goode singer, who is revered by the world's greatest guitarists, will be honoured with the coveted award at a ceremony in Stockholm, Sweden this summer (Aug14).

He will also be handed more than $160,000 (£100,000) at the gala.

The top music award was established by late Abba manager and publisher Stig Anderson. Opera and theatre director Peter Sellars will also be honoured at the 2014 ceremony.

Past recipients of the Polar Music Prize have included Paul Simon, Bob Dylan, Ray Charles, Bruce Springsteen and Sir Paul MCCartney, who picked up the first award in 1992.