The country superstars have been named finalists for the fan-voted category for their songs Smoke Break, Sangria, and Strip It Down, respectively, while Chris Stapleton's Fire Away, Tim MCGraw's Humble and Kind, and Thomas Rhett's Die a Happy Man are also in the running for the trophy.

Members of the public will be able to continue casting their final votes throughout Wednesday's ceremony, and the winner will be announced towards the end of the live programme, broadcast from Nashville, Tennessee.

Former American Idol champ Carrie is already the most awarded artist in CMT history with 14 wins to date, and in addition to Video of the Year, she is also nominated for Female Video of the Year, and CMT Performance of the Year for Smoke Break.

Other nominees include Florida Georgia Line (Group/Duo Video of the Year for Sippin' on Fire), Kacey Musgraves (Female Video of the Year for Biscuits), and Adam Lambert and Leona Lewis, who scored a surprise nod for their cover of Little Big Town's Girl Crush at the CMT Artists of the Year event.

Performers at the 2016 CMT Music Awards will include Blake Shelton, Jason Aldean, Keith Urban and Chris Stapleton, while actors Vince Vaughn and Chad Michael Murray, Lady Antebellum's Charles Kelley, and Leona Lewis have signed up as guest presenters.