Relentless Energy Drink Kerrang! Awards - 2010 Winners Announced

Relentless Energy Drink Kerrang! Awards - 2010 Winners Announced

Relentless Energy Drink Kerrang! Awards - Winners Announced

The Brits led the charge at tonight's Relentless Energy Drink Kerrang! Awards, which saw Bullet For My Valentine, Biffy Clyro and You Me At Six all voted winners, beating off competition from their American rivals.

Kerrang! Magazine's 17th annual Awards ceremony in London was hosted for the second year running by Slipknot / Stone Sour frontman Corey Taylor and Scott Ian from Anthrax / The Damned Things.

Over 6 million readers voted across the public categories in the last three weeks, fiercely placing their support behind their favourite rock acts in order to make them winners on the night.

Bridgend boys Bullet For My Valentine picked up the award for the third year running for Best British Band presented by Fender, and beat off stiff competition from mostly U.S. acts - Green Day, 30 Seconds to Mars, Paramore and also fellow Brits Skindred - to win Best Live Band, following a superb headlining appearance at this year's Download Festival.

Scottish favourites Biffy Clyro were well deserved of the title for Best Video presented by Young Minds (beating U.S. rockers 30 Seconds To Mars, Paramore and Cancer Bats) for track 'The Captain', which sees the band captured on a boat out on the high seas, and accepted their trophy in person. Surrey's You Me At Six were voted as winner for Best Single presented by Red Stripe, for 'Liquid Confidence'.

30 Seconds To Mars and Paramore, each nominated four times in the same categories, were locked in a fierce battle during voting, and were placed neck and neck up until the very last minute. In the end, 30 Seconds To Mars - fronted by Jared Leto - pipped Paramore to the post for Best International Band, however Paramore exacted their revenge by taking away the trophy for Best Album.

Proving that being a rock star is more than ripped jeans - it can be genes as well - the London-based metallers Rise To Remain were crowned winners of Best British Newcomer. Best International Newcomer went to new Californian hardcore heroes Trash Talk, who are already making an explosive name for themselves in the UK on the back of some recent infamous live shows.

In addition to the eight public voted categories, a further six 'special' Kerrang! awards were presented on the night. Honouring LA's most famous and notorious sons, Motley Crue were awarded with Kerrang! Hall Of Fame trophy, following in the footsteps of legends such as Black Sabbath, Bon Jovi, AC/DC, Judas Priest and Slayer.

In tribute to the loss of two hugely influential artists, two posthumous awards were given out. The Kerrang! Icon presented by Orange Amplification went to Ronnie James Dio, who sadly passed away in May. Honoured with the Kerrang! Services to Metal was Paul Gray, the bassist and songwriter of U.S. metallers Slipknot, who also passed away in May.

Lostprophets were honoured with Classic Songwriter, an award that in previous years has gone to Linkin Park, Def Leppard, Deftones, Placebo and Nine Inch Nails.

Punk poet Frank Turner collected the No Half Measures Award presented by Relentless Energy Drink for his spirit of independence and his notable music career.

German industrial metallers Rammstein were presented with the Kerrang! Inspiration Award presented by HMV.

Presenters on the night included Feeder, Madina Lake, The King Blues, Daniel P Carter, Sarah Cawood, Brendon Burn, Andrew O'Neill, Brian Posehn, Tim Minchin.

Editor of Kerrang! Magazine Nichola Browne commented, "Despite the very tough competition, once again, Kerrang! readers have proved themselves to have the finest taste when it comes to honouring the bands that are shaking up the rock world, and it's brilliant to see that our British rock and metal scene is so highly regarded and supported. As well as celebrating the very best of British and international talent, we are really pleased that we could pay our respects to Ronnie James Dio and Paul Gray tonight with two very special awards."

Don't miss full coverage of the Kerrang! Awards 2010 only on Kerrang! TV Kerrang! Sky 368 / Virgin 342