Rocker Weir is set to receive the Lifetime Achievement Performer honour in recognition of his more than five decades in the music industry, which included his long tenure with the Grateful Dead.

Country folk singer Colvin will be presented with the Lifetime Achievement Trailblazer Award, a prize which has previously been given to stars like Don Henley and Old Crow Medicine Show.

"These artists have not only influenced the Americana community, but the musical landscape as a whole," Executive Director of the Americana Music Association Jed Hilly says in a statement. "They all have been an inspiration to our community and we are humbled they will honor us in song at the Ryman this fall."

Other musicians receiving accolades at Nashville's iconic Ryman Auditorium will be prolific singer Jim Lauderdale, British singer/songwriter Billy Bragg, Stax Records act William Bell, and the late Woody Guthrie, who will be posthumously honoured with the President's Award.

Jason Isbell leads the nominees at the 15th annual Americana Honors and Awards, which will be handed out on 21 September (16).