British pop band THE Beautiful South have split after 19 hitmaking years together, due to "musical similarities". The band were formed by former members of THE HOUSEMARTINS in 1988 and have enjoyed a string of hits including chart-topper A LITTLE TIME, PERFECT 10, YOU KEEP IT ALL IN and SONG FOR WHOEVER. A statement from founder members PAUL HEATON and DAVE HEMINGWAY reads: "The band would like to thank everyone for their 19 wonderful years in music."