Somali Oscar nominee Barkhad Abdi, Paul Dano and Michael Fassbender are among the 271 artists and executives who have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Actors Ben Foster, Sally Hawkins, Josh Hutcherson, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Mads Mikkelsen, Lupita Nyong'o and Jason Statham and directors Gavin O'Connor, Paolo Sorrentino and Jean-Marc Vallee are also on the membership list with Hollywood's top casting directors, cinematographers, costume designers, make-up artists, animators, producers, moguls and documentary makers.

Musicians Eddie Vedder and Pharrell Williams have also been invited to join the Academy.

New members will be welcomed into the Academy at an invitation-only reception in September (14).