Arctic Monkeys and Amy Winehouse lead the list of the 12 albums nominated for this year's Nationwide Mercury prize.

The Sheffield band have made the list for their second album Favourite Worst Nightmare after winning last year's award for their debut Whatever People Say I Am That's What I'm Not.

Winehouse has experienced huge success with her LP Back to Black which included the hit singles Rehab and I'm No Good.

Also among the nominees are new-rave acts Klaxons and New Young Pony Club. Klaxon's album Myths of the Near Future has been a surprise chart hit in the last year while New Young Puny Club released their debut earlier this month.

Scottish band the View are nominated for their LP Hats Off to the Buskers, while Dizzee Rascal gets the nod for Maths + English.

Among the surprise additions to the shortlist are Fionn Regan, whose acoustic The End of History has seen him build up a cult following.

Regan's live performances have won him many fans and he is aided by Babyshambles member Drew McConnell on bass.

Bat for Lashes' Fur and Gold is also on the list along with Maps' We Can Create and Jamie T's Panic Prevention.

Simon Firth, chair of the Mercury judges, said: "This year's Nationwide Mercury prize shortlist celebrates a remarkable range of artists who use their albums to tell stories, shape moods, explore emotions and lift the spirits.

"The list marks the emergence of a wealth of eclectic talent making music with great energy, excitement and personality."

The Mercury prize 2007 album list:

Bat for Lashes: Fur and Gold
Maps: We Can Create
Fionn Regan: The End of History
The View: Hats Off to the Buskers
New Young Pony Club: Fantastic Playroom
Dizzee Rascal: Maths + English
Klaxons: Myths of the Near Future
Amy Winehouse: Back to Black
The Young Knives: Voices of Animals and Men
Jamie T: Panic Prevention
Arctic Monkeys: Favourite Worst Nightmare
Basquiat Strings: Basquiat Strings with Seb Rochford

17/07/2007 12:22:55