British chart-toppers the Arctic Monkeys have won the 2006 Mercury Music Prize for their 2005 debut album WHATEVER PEOPLE SAY I AM, THAT'S WHAT I'M NOT. The MARDY BUM rockers were presented with the GBP20,000 ($36,000) prize from jazz star Jools Holland at the ceremony at London's plush Grosvenor House hotel last night (05SEP06) - beating off competition from seasoned stars including Thom Yorke, SCRITTI POLITTI and Richard Hawley, who also hails from the band's hometown of Sheffield, Northern England. Frontman Alex Turner quipped, "Somebody call 999, Richard Hawley's been robbed! "Normally it (the award) doesn't go to a band that's sold so many records, to be blunt. We had the best record and the judges agreed with us." But the band responded spikily when asked why they didn't perform at the bash, sniping, "Muse didn't either. Why don't you hound them about it?" Estranged bassist ANDY TURNER will not be receiving a share in the prize money despite playing his part in the album, although the hitmakers insist his portion would go "to a cause he'll agree with". This year's full nominations were as follows: ARCTIC MONKEYS - WHATEVER PEOPLE SAY I AM, THAT'S WHAT I'M NOT ISOBEL CAMPBELL AND MARK LANEGAN - BALLAD OF THE BROKEN SEAS EDITORS - THE BACK ROOM GUILLEMOTS - THROUGH THE WINDOWPANE RICHARD HAWLEY - COLES CORNER HOT CHIP - THE WARNING MUSE - BLACK HOLES + REVELATIONS ZOE RAHMAN - MELTING POT LOU RHODES - BELOVED ONE SCRITTI POLITTI - WHITE BREAD BLACK BEER SWAY - THIS IS MY DEMO THOM YORKE - THE ERASER.