Arcade Fire, Feist and LCD Soundsystem have been named among the final ten acts for this year's Shortlist Prize.

The award, thought of as a US equivalent to the Mercury Music Prize, has previously been given to Damien Rice, Sufjan Stevens, Cat Power and TV On The Radio.

A 'longlist' of 55 nominees is initially drawn up, with records only considered if they were released in the US between January and November last year and have not been certified gold for domestic sales of 500,000 units.

The shortlist is then drawn up by a panel, with Snow Patrol frontman Gary Lightbody and The Killers' drummer Ronnie Vannucci this year part of the team responsible for whittling the long list down to a final crop of ten.

While Arcade Fire's Neon Bible and LCD Soundsystem's Sound of Silver have made the final list, the likes of Biffy Clyro, Kings Of Leon, Klaxons and PJ Harvey have missed out.

The winner will be announced next month.

The ten nominees for the Shortlist Prize are:

Arcade Fire - Neon Bible
Burial - Untrue
Feist - The Reminder
Justice - Cross
LCD Soundsystem - Sound of Silver
MIA - Kala
Spoon - Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga
Stars - In Our Bedroom After the War
Wilco - Sky Blue Sky
Working for a Nuclear Free City - Businessmen & Ghosts

29/01/2008 13:18:22